Skip to Content

Faculty and Staff

The faculty at the Governor's School is great--one of the best anywhere!

Office of the President
Academic Affairs Division and Teaching Faculty

Adjunct Teaching Faculty
Accelerate Division
Strategic Direction, Admissions & Recruitment
Outreach Division
Student Development Staff
Residence Life Staff
Business and Operations Staff
Foundation Staff
 

 


 

 

Office of the President
 

 

Dr. Murray Brockman
brockman@gssm.k12.sc.us
President

Susan Coker

 

Ms. Susan Coker
coker@gssm.k12.sc.us
Executive Assistant to the President & Executive Assistant to the Director of the Economics and Finance Insititute

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

Academic Affairs Division

Danny Dorsel

 

Mr. Danny Dorsel
dorsel@gssm.k12.sc.us
Vice President for Academic Affairs

 

Dr. Michael Albright
albright@gssm.k12.sc.us
Accelerate English Instructor

 

Dr. Jennifer Brown        
brown@gssm.k12.sc.us

Biology

 

Mrs. Jane Etta Bryan
bryan@gssm.k12.sc.us
Registrar

 

Mrs. Elizabeth L. Bunn
bunn@gssm.k12.sc.us
Computer Science & Computer Science/Math Division Chair

 

Mr. Ike Coleman
coleman@gssm.k12.sc.us
English

 

Dr. Graham Culbertson
culbertson@gssm.k12.sc.us
English Instructor

 

Dr. Karen Den Braven
denbraven@gssm.k12.sc.us
Director of Engineering Programs,
GSSM Residential and Accelerate
 

Roy Flannigan

 

Dr. Roy Flannagan
flannagan@gssm.k12.sc.us
English

 

Mr. Robert Fletcher
fletcher@gssm.k12.sc.us
Founding Director, Economics and Finance Institute


 

Dr. Barry Friedman
friedman@gssm.k12.sc.us
Accelerate Chemistry

 

Dr. Mark Godwin
godwin@gssm.k12.sc.us
Physics, Science Division Chair

 

Dr. Ian Gowan            
gowan@gssm.k12.sc.us
Spanish

 

Mr. Chad Gunnells
gunnells@gssm.k12.sc.us
Academic Success Coordinator


 

 

Dr. Dennis Hall
dhall@gssm.k12.sc.us
Accelerate Mathematics

Dr. Carlanna Hendrick

 

Dr. Carlanna L. Hendrick
hendrick@gssm.k12.sc.us
History, Humanities Chair


Adam Houle

 

Dr. Adam Houle            
houle@gssm.k12.sc.us
English

 

Sra. Gladys Ingram
ingram@gssm.k12.sc.us
Spanish


NO PHOTO AVAILABLE
Dr. Phelesia Jones-Cooper
jonescooper@gssm.k12.sc.us
Chemistry

 

Dr. Stephen Kaczkowski
kaczkowski@gssm.k12.sc.us
Mathematics

 

Dr. Nicole Kroeger
kroeger@gssm.k12.sc.us
Mathematics

 

Dr. Ye Li
yeli@gssm.k12.sc.us
Chinese, PULSE

 

Dr. Glenn Morrow
morrow@gssm.k12.sc.us
Biology

 

Mr. Scott Page
page@gssm.k12.sc.us
Chemistry

 

Dr. Bhuvana Parameswaran
parameswaran@gssm.k12.sc.us
Biology

 

Dr. Lance Riddle        
riddle@gssm.k12.sc.us
Chemistry

 

Dr. Karl Rohr
rohr@gssm.k12.sc.us
History

 

Dr. Gary Salazar
salazar@gssm.k12.sc.us
Mathematics

 

Mrs. Jenny Salazar
jsalazar@gssm.k12.sc.us
Mathematics

 

Dr. Clyde J. Smith
smith@gssm.k12.sc.us
Physics

 

Dr. K. Sris
sris@gssm.k12.sc.us
Mathematics

 

Dr. Jennifer Taylor
taylor@gssm.k12.sc.us
Molecular Biology

 

Dr. Kurt C. Wagner
kurtwagner@gssm.k12.sc.us
Chemistry

 

Dr. Kristin Walker
kwalker@gssm.k12.sc.us
Physics

 

Dr. Joseph Wensink
wensink@gssm.k12.sc.us
English

 

Dr. David Whitbeck
whitbeck@gssm.k12.sc.us
Physics

Jeff Wisdom
Dr. Jeff Wisdom            
wisdom@gssm.k12.sc.us
Economics

 


Adjunct Teaching Faculty

 

 

Ms. Miranda Easterling
easterling@gssm.k12.sc.us

Music Coordinator

Patz Fowle

Patz Fowle
fowle@gssm.k12.sc.us
Visual Arts Coordinator

NO PHOTO AVAILABLE

Dr. Julia Fisher
jfisher@coker.edu
AP Psychology

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

 

Strategic Direction, Admissions & Recruitment

 

Ms. Kim Bowman
kim@scgssm.org
EVP, Strategic Direction, GSSM

 

Mr. Steven Cote
cote@gssm.k12.sc.us
Director of Admissions

 

Mrs. Jonellyn Dittenhauser
dittenhauser@gssm.k12.sc.us
Admissions Coordinator

 

Ms. Brigitte Barnett
brigitte@scgssm.org
Director of Recruitment


 

Mrs. Sonja Taylor
sonja@scgssm.org
Diversity Recruitment Manager

Darby Kirven

 

Ms. Darby Kirven
darby@scgssm.org
Recruitment & Outreach Coordinator

NO PHOTO AVAILABLE

Mary-Kate Ward
mkward@scgssm.org
Recruitment & Outreach Coordinator

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



Outreach Division

 

Mr. Randy La Cross
lacross@gssm.k12.sc.us
Vice President of Outreach and Research


Lisa Bateman

 

Lisa Bateman
bateman@gssm.k12.sc.us
Outreach & Accelerate Program Assistant

 

Mrs. Kathryn Behling            
behling@gssm.k12.sc.us
Outreach Instructor & Program Coordinator

 

Ms. Susan Engelhardt
engelhardt@gssm.k12@sc.us
GoSciTech Director

LaChanda Hare

 

Ms. LaChanda Hare            
lnhare@gssm.k12.sc.us
Outreach Instructor & Coordinator

NO PHOTO AVAILABLE

Mrs. Patty Long
long@gssm.k12.sc.us
Accelerate Technology Manager

 

Ms. Jomia Mack
mack@gssm.k12.sc.us
SC GEAR UP STEM Coordinator


NO PHOTO AVAILABLE
Ms. Irene Middleton
middleton@gssm.k12.sc.us
Director of Outreach Programs

 

Dr. Zaria O'Bryant
obryant@gssm.k12.sc.us
Accelerate Program Administrator

 

Dr. Elaine Parshall
parshall@gssm.k12.sc.us
Accelerate Academic Coordinator

 

Dr. Jerome Reyes
reyes@gssm.k12.sc.us
PULSE Coordinator

NO PHOTO AVAILABLE

Dr. Josh Witten
witten@gssm.k12.sc.us
Research & Outreach Coordinator

 


 

 

Student Development Staff

 

Dr. Emilye Mobley
mobley@gssm.k12.sc.us
Vice President for Student Development

 

Mrs. Denise Atkinson
atkinson@gssm.k12.sc.us
Health Services Coordinator

 

NO PHOTO AVAILABLE

Mrs. Heather Blackburn
blackburn@gssm.k12.sc.us
Administrative Assistant to VP of Student Development
and VP Academic Affairs

 

Dr. Alison Evans
evans@gssm.k12.sc.us
Psychologist/Counselor

 

Ms. Tiffany Gray-Williams
gray@gssm.k12.sc.us
College Counselor

VaDonna Hall

 

Ms. VaDonna Hall
hall@gssm.k12.sc.us
College Counselor

 

Mr. Justin Johnson
johnson@gssm.k12.sc.us
Assistant Athletic Director

 

Ms. Lisa Knell
knell@gssm.k12.sc.us
College Counselor

 

Mr. Tully Pate
pate@gssm.k12.sc.us
Director of Athletics

NO PHOTO AVAILABLE

Timothy Staples
staples@gssm.k12.sc.us
Director of Campus Life

NO PHOTO AVAILABLE

Cathy Thomas
thomas@gssm.k12.sc.us
Director of Student Engagement


NO PHOTO AVAILABLE
Mr. J.J. Tramontana
tramontana@gssm.k12.sc.us
Director of Dining Services
Jeannie Wilkerson

 

Mrs. Jeannie Wilkerson        
wilkerson@gssm.k12.sc.us
Community Engagement Coordinator

 


 

Residence Life Staff

Gary Dent
4th Floor Residence Life Coordinator
dent@gssm.k12.sc.us

Heather Dunham
3rd Floor Residence Life Coordinator
dunham@gssm.k12.sc.us

David Griffith
2nd floor Residence Life Coordinator
griffith@gssm.k12.sc.us

Jenna Roberts
4th Floor Residence Life Coordinator

Brittany Stephens
2nd Floor Residence Life Coordinator

Maurice Williams
3rd Floor Residence Life Coordinator
williams@gssm.k12.sc.us
    
Jordan Davenport
3rd Floor Resident Assistant
davenport@gssm.k12.sc.us

Robert Hankins
4th Floor Resident Assistant
hankins@gssm.k12.sc.us

Brandon Herron
2nd Floor Resident Assistant

Chris Moore
4th Floor Resident Assistant

Hailey Owens
3rd Floor Resident Assistant
owens@gssm.k12.sc.us

Troy Perrotti
2nd Floor Resident Assistant
 

 


 

Business and Operations Staff

 

Mr. Ernie Boyd
boyd@gssm.k12.sc.us
CFO & Vice President for Operations

 

Mr. David Crook
Facilities Assistant

 

Mr. James C. Griffin
Maintenance Assistant

 

Mrs. Leslie Jerman
jerman@gssm.k12.sc.us
Computer Systems Manager

 

Ms. Rose Levy
levy@gssm.k12.sc.us
Receptionist

David Matthews

 

Mr. David Matthews
matthews@gssm.k12.sc.us
Technology Manager

Mike McConnell

 

Mr. Mike McConnell
mcconnell@gssm.k12.sc.us
Facilities Director

Charlotte Outlaw

 

Mrs. Charlotte Outlaw
wilkes@gssm.k12.sc.us
Business Operations A
ssistant

 

Mr. Al Rose
rose@gssm.k12.sc.us
Campus Security Coordinator

 

Mrs. Kelly Rowe-Butler
rowe@gssm.k12.sc.us
Business Office Assistant

 

Mr. Jon Shannon
shannon@gssm.k12.sc.us
Chief Information Officer & Director of Technology

 

Mr. Timmy Tyner
tyner@gssm.k12.sc.us
Maintenance Technician

 

Ms. Thomasina Wilson
wilson@gssm.k12.sc.us
Business Office Coordinator

 


Foundation Staff

Development Office:
1201 Main Street
Suite 2350
Columbia, SC 29201
803-252-9152 (phone)
803-252-0634 (fax)

 

Ms. Kim Bowman
kim@scgssm.org
CEO, GSSM Foundation

 

 

Mrs. Pam Altman, bCRE
pam@scgssm.org
Director of Applications and Advancement Services

Stacy Collins

 

Ms. Stacy Collins
stacy@scgssm.org
Director of Business Operations & Program Support

Mary Katherine Elliott

 

Ms. Mary Kathryne Elliott
marykathryne@scgssm.org
Annual Fund & Grants Manager

 

Mrs. Alison Mann
alison@scgssm.org
Director of Marketing

 

Ms. Jennifer McCormack
jennifer@scgssm.org
Director of Development

 

Mrs. Meg Senn
meg@scgssm.org
Alumni Relations & Career Services Manager