Skip to Content

Residence Life Staff

The residence life staff members are responsible for directing, guiding and supervising GSSM students, particularly in areas of non-academic development.

The residence life coordinators are professional, full-time staff members who live in the residence hall. Four RLCs work rotating schedules which include day, night and weekend shifts so that the students in the residence hall are supervised 24/7. The RLCs also supervise two resident assistants who also live on their floors. 

The resident assistants serve as counselors, plan hall activities, help enforce guidelines, and act as liaisons between the students and staff. RAs are local college students who are chosen for their maturity, leadership, communication skills and interest in working with teenagers.

Director of Campus Life

John Batten

Johnny is originally from Central Maine and was GSSM’s Residence Life Coordinator for four years before being promoted to the Director position. Before GSSM, Johnny spent four years working in student life at Fordham University in residence hall management and housing operations. He began his career working at the Maine School for Science and Mathematics, where he served as a resident assistant and a hall director. He has also worked with Upward Bound and GSSM's GoSciTech summer science and technology camp.  He holds a bachelor's degree in communications from the University of Maine at Presque Isle and a master's degree in psychology from Walden University.

Coordinator of Student Activities

Chelsea Lane

Chelsea Lane, of McBee, SC, served as a Resident Assistant at the Governor’s School for almost two years and is the new Student Activities Coordinator. In her new role, she works with students on monthly service projects and fun weekly activities in the Student Activity Center. She holds a bachelor’s degree in counseling psychology, with a minor in sociology, from Coker College. She currently volunteers at the newly created Thelma Louis Barns Learning Center in McBee, which teaches teens better communication skills and helps build confidence with public speaking. She enjoys a variety of activities, such as reading, horseback riding, music, spending time with family and friends and meeting new people. She loves working with these incredible students and looks forward to helping them find ways to become involved in both the GSSM and Hartsville communities.

Residence Life Staff

Mr. Joel Bristol
bristol@gssm.k12.sc.us
Resident Assistant

Mr. Jordan Davenport
davenport@gssm.k12.sc.us
Resident Assistant

Ms. Heather Dunham
dunham@gssm.k12.sc.us
Residence Life Coordinator

Ms. Sydney Epps
epps@gssm.k12.sc.us
Residence Life Coordinator

Ms. Chelsea Frazier
cfrazier@gssm.k12.sc.us
Resident Assistant

Ms. Kenya Frazier
frazier@gssm.k12.sc.us
Resident Assistant

Mr. Robbie Gainey
gainey@gssm.k12.sc.us
Resident Assistant

Mr. David Griffith
griffith@gssm.k12.sc.us
Residence Life Coordinator

Mr. Robert Hankins
hankins@gssm.k12.sc.us
Resident Assistant

Mr. Justin Johnson
johnson@gssm.k12.sc.us
Residence Life Coordinator

Ms. Wilhemina Kamara
kamara@gssm.k12.sc.us
Residence Life Coordinator

Ms. Shanice Kelly
kelly@gssm.k12.sc.us
Resident Assistant

Ms. Katelyn McElveen
mcelveen@gssm.k12.sc.us
Resident Assistant

Ms. Sarah McNamee
mcnamee@gssm.k12.sc.us
Resident Assistant

Mr. Eren Moses
moses@gssm.k12.sc.us
Resident Assistant

Ms. Hailey Owens
owens@gssm.k12.sc.us
Resident Assistant

Mr. Maurice Williams
williams@gssm.k12.sc.us
Residence Life Coordinator