blog detail image

Foundational Updates October 2021

October 21, 2021

GSSM Celebrates Around the Globe

Guests enjoying GSSM Around the Globe celebration

It was a picture-perfect evening on the GSSM campus as families, friends, faculty, staff, students, and alumni gathered in person on October 7, 2021, for Around the Globe with GSSM: Taking Off Again! This international extravaganza celebrating GSSM’s global initiatives raised funds for the GSSM Foundation to support international education for future GSSM students. We had a great time exploring international culture, cuisine, and conversation under the stars and celebrated being back together on campus.

Board of Trustees Chair Bob Brown, President Danny Dorsel, Foundation Board Chair Connie Cain and Foundation Executive Director Beth Dinndorf recognized and thanked Around the Globe sponsors and hosts and introduced some of the GSSM students and global initiatives this event helps fund. We are so thankful for our presenting sponsor, Integrated Systems Inc., and all the sponsors and hosts who made this event possible.

View more photos from the event on Flickr.

Dr. Bhuvana Parameswaran and Aimei Jiang Newsome at Around the Globe

GSSM President Danny Dorsel, GSSM Foundation Executive Director Beth Dinndorf, Representative Robert Williams and Carla Moore, GSSM Foundation Staff

Announcing the 2022 Townes Award Recipient!

During remarks at Around the Globe on October 7, 2021, GSSM President Danny Dorsel announced the 2022 Townes Award will honor the People of Sonoco Products Company.

Sonoco and its people have transformed the GSSM community, the Hartsville community, and the South Carolina community. None would be what they are today without the people of Sonoco, and GSSM looks forward to celebrating the People of Sonoco Products Company and the community GSSM and Sonoco have created together.

Mark your calendar to join us for the Townes Award Celebration on March 23, 2022, in Columbia or virtually on YouTube.

The Townes Award is named for SC native and Nobel laureate, Dr. Charles Townes. Read more about the Award and past recipients on our website.

Back to Blog