Clemson President to Speak at Commencement

May 22, 2015

The South Carolina Governor’s School for Science and Mathematics (GSSM) is pleased to announce Dr. James P. Clements, president of Clemson University, will serve as the keynote speaker during the School’s 26th commencement ceremony Saturday, May 30, at the DeLoach Center in Hartsville, 11 a.m.  

“Graduation is a very special day, and I'm honored that the Governor's School has invited me to be part of this year's ceremonies,” said President Clements. “I look forward to spending some time with these bright young people, their families and the school's dedicated faculty and staff.”

Clements became Clemson University’s 15th president on December 31, 2013, after serving nearly five years as president of West Virginia University.  He succeeded Jim Barker, who retired after 14 years as Clemson’s president. He is also a Professor in the School of Computing, College of Engineering and Science, at Clemson.

Clements holds a B.S. in Computer Science and M.S. and Ph.D. in Operations Analysis from the University of Maryland Baltimore County, and an M.S. in Computer Science from Johns Hopkins University. He has published and/or presented more than 75 papers in the fields of computer science, higher education, information technology, project management and strategic planning.

During Clements’ tenure at WVU, the university set records in private fund-raising, enrollment, research and patients served through the health system, and reached 95 percent of its $750 million capital campaign goal two years ahead of schedule.

“We are honored to welcome President Clements to join us for our graduation ceremony,” said Dr. Murray Brockman, GSSM president. “His career shows where a passion for education with a STEM-focus can lead. His remarks will have a great impact on our students.”

Sixty-five percent of the school’s 112 graduating seniors will attend South Carolina colleges and universities in the fall. Notable out-of-state schools they will attend include Duke University, United States Naval Academy, University of Notre Dame, Tufts University, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, and Washington University in St. Louis.

Back to News