news detail image

Davis, Cox Named Emeriti

October 15, 2018

Twice rescheduled due to approaching hurricanes, GSSM held its 30th Annual Convocation Ceremony at the Gerald R. Malloy Student Activity Center on its campus in Hartsville on October 10th.

Dr. Leroy Davis and Dr. Leland Cox were both honored for their foundational leadership of the school. South Carolina Senator Gerald Malloy introduced each honoree.

Dr. Davis was named Board of Trustees Chair Emeritus for his leadership of the board lasting more than 20 years. During his tenure, the school grew to its full compliment of 288 students in residence, the construction of a new campus, the selection of 2 new presidents, and the creation and growth of virtual and outreach programs serving thousands of students across the state each year.

Dr. Cox was named President Emeritus in recognition of 10 years of service as GSSM’s first president. Hiring the initial faculty and leading the school through its founding years enabled Dr. Cox to build a tradition of excellence that is in evidence today as the school celebrates its 30th Anniversary. As part of his Convocation address, Dr. Cox told students that in the school’s early years, success was not a foregone conclusion and that the credit for GSSM’s achievements belonged as much to the charter faculty as to his leadership. He then recited each of their names. Four members of the charter faculty were in attendance: Dr. Bill Alexander, retired biology teacher; Dr. Carlanna Hendrick, currently teaching history; Dr. Clyde Smith, currently teaching physics; Dr. Bob Trowell, retired chemistry teacher. You can read Dr. Cox’s address in its entirety here.

Keeping with tradition, each member of the senior class walked across the stage as they received their GSSM Academic Letter. The letter is given to students who have completed their Junior year and further distinguished themselves by completing the summer university research program.

GSSM President Dr. Hector Flores and GSSM Board of Trustees Chair Hal Cambell each thanked the men for their service to GSSM and to the state of South Carolina.

Pictured above: Dr. Leroy Davis (L) and Dr. Leland Cox (R) were honored for their service to GSSM.

Back to News