GSSM Announces New Faculty Members

September 12, 2014

The South Carolina Governor's School for Science & Mathematics (GSSM) is pleased to announce new residential and virtual teaching faculty for the 2014-15 school year. GSSM is a two-year, public, residential program located in Hartsville, SC, for juniors and seniors from across the state. The School’s three-year, virtual engineering program, Accelerate, is for sophomores, juniors and seniors and delivered in partner school districts statewide.

New GSSM Accelerate & Residential Faculty:

  • Dr. Michael Albright, Accelerate English Instructor, PhD, Lehigh University
  • Mr. Kacey Coley, GSSM Computer Science Instructor, MFA, Clemson University
  • Dr. Graham Culbertson, GSSM English Instructor, PhD, University of North Carolina
  • Dr. Barry Friedman, Accelerate Chemistry Instructor, PhD, University of North Texas
  • Dr. Dennis Hall, Accelerate Mathematics Instructor, PhD, Louisiana State University
  • Dr. Nicole Kroeger, GSSM Mathematics Instructor, PhD, University of Notre Dame
  • Dr. Glenn Morrow, GSSM Biology Instructor, PhD, University of British Columbia
  • Dr. Elaine Parshall, Accelerate Curriculum Coordinator, PhD, Tufts University
  • Dr. Kristen Walker, GSSM Physics Instructor, PhD, University of North Carolina at Charlotte

“We are lucky to have such an outstanding faculty,” said Dr. Murray Brockman, GSSM president. “Eighty percent of GSSM’s faculty holds a PhD and 100 percent holds a master’s degree. They are full of information and ready to deliver it to our virtual and residential students.”

For the 2014-15 school year, GSSM’s residential program is increasing its technology and engineering offerings. The School offers 48 STEM courses annually, 40 percent of which are above the AP level.

The Computer Science division will be teaching a total of one core and nine elective computer science courses, including Introduction to Computer Graphics using Python, Introduction to Artificial Intelligence and Creating Web Applications.

The new Duke Energy Engineering & Innovation Institute, led by GSSM's Director of Engineering Programs Dr. Karen Den Braven, is now offering, with assistance from Clemson University engineering professors, four core and two elective semester-long engineering courses, as well two January Interim engineering courses.

The Accelerate engineering program, now in its second year, has welcomed the second cohort of students to the pilot program, in addition to the new teaching faculty. Partner sites for the 2014-15 school year are: Academy for the Arts, Science, and Technology; Bethune Bowman Middle High School; D.W. Daniel High School; J.L. Mann High School; Lexington Technology Center; North Middle High School; Orangeburg-Wilkinson High School; and W.J. Keenan High School.

Pictured above: Back row: Mr. Kacey Coley, Dr. Graham Culbertson, Dr. Michael Albright, Dr. Dennis Hall
Front row: Dr. Elaine Parshall, Dr. Glenn Morrow, Dr. Kristen Walker, Dr. Nicole Kroeger, Dr. Barry Friedman

Back to News